The then-Bishop Raymond L. Burke established the Canons Regular of the New Jerusalem in the diocese of La Crosse on June 22, 2002. The Canons are a public association of the faithful in the diocese of Wheeling-Charleston under Bishop Michael J. Bransfield, effective November 22, 2013.    

 Group photagraph after juridical erection of the Canons.

In the decree of erection, the now Cardinal Burke noted the worthy celebration of the traditional Catholic liturgy as being at the heart of the spirituality and work of the CRNJ. The Canons Regular of the New Jerusalem seek perfection of the worship of God using the 1962 Liturgy in the celebration of the Mass in its historic Latin form, consistent, the Bishop noted, with his holiness Pope John Paul's Ecclesia Dei Adflicta of 1988. Recognizing that the order professes vows of stability, conversion of life and obedience, and lives a common life according to the Rule of Saint Augustine, Cardinal Burke established the CRNJ under his personal care and direction.

The Canons Regular

Below is the decree of erection.

Decree of Juridical Erection of the Canons Regular Of The New Jerusalem